THEOLOGY OF THE TRADITIONAL LATIN MASS #11

“Cleanse my heart and my lips, O Almighty God, Who cleansed the lips of the Prophet Isaiah with a burning coal; in Thy gracious mercy deign so to purify me that I may worthily proclaim Thy holy Gospel. Through Christ our Lord. Amen. “

We may consider Our Lord, standing before Herod,  and not speaking a word.  He Who is the Word remains silent. Herod asks questions, not to learn, not to open his heart to Jesus, not to repent of his evil deeds, but to satisfy his curiosity.  He delights in the prospect of being privy to a private showing of signs and wonders.

“Lord Jesus Christ Who before Herod didst for my salvation suffer the same charge of crimes against Thee without returning the least word to justify Thyself, grant that I may receive Thy Word with all purity so that Thy grace may enable me, O Divine Master, to be meek and humble of heart.  Amen.”

Compare the old Munda cor meum above with the N.O. one:  “Almighty God, cleanse my heart and my lips that I may worthily proclaim your gospel.”  Kinda of bland, I’d say. 

 

About ihmprayforme

lifelong Catholic; homeschooled our children; have been regularly attending the Tridentine Mass for at least the past 17 years.
This entry was posted in The theology of the TLM in pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

